Once you have settled into one of Steamboat Springs’ luxury property rentals, go and explore the unique historic buildings and destinations. Here are some of their amazing stories.
This is a part of Emerald Mountain that was named for Carl Howelsen, who was a Norwegian ski jumper called the “Flying Norseman” in the Barnum and Bailey’s Circus. Carl came to Steamboat in 1913 and loved introducing recreational skiing to the residents. By the 1930s, there was a “boat tow” that was made up of two sleds that were pulled up the mountain by the use of a cable that was miraculously powered by a Model T engine and transmission. In 1947, a chair and T-bar lift was named one of the longest lifts in the United States. This is the only ski area that has been placed on the Colorado State Register of Historic Places.
Carver Power Plant
In 1900, this coal-powered plant made Steamboat Springs the first Northwest Colorado town that provided electricity. Steam, a by-product, was frugally used to heat some residences and schools.
Hugus Building, 912 Lincoln Avenue.
Built in 1890, this was J.W. Hugus & Co., one of the first general store chains. Equipped with labor-saving devices such as electric lights and cash carriers, the store also housed Steamboat’s first telephone.
Lorenz Building, 928 Lincoln Ave.
Completed in 1893 as a general store, it became the courthouse in 1912. When the present-day courthouse was built in 1923, this building became a dance hall named the Social Benefit Association.